I want to get some dread extensions to add with my dreads but all the places I’ve seen them on the internet were really expensive, have you ever used them if so were’a the best place to get them xo

Hello there. 

They are very expensive because they take hours of difficult skilled labor. I make them infrequently, and to make a 16” set of extensions takes me over a week of working many hours per day. 

The queen of synthetic dreadlock extensions, Anouk Dreadmaker, said that she can knock out 4 full sets in a week- to me that is madness! 
Check out my video of making them:
http://youtu.be/Hnfinze-_co?t=5m35s

When it shows the crochet hooking, it is at 8x normal speed! They are expensive because they are worth it. 

Synthetic hair extensions can easily cost $150+, and I’ve seen human hair dreadlock extensions easily reach over $300 (human hair costs quite a lot more than synthetic hair- that’s why). They are really labor intensive- and I really admire the people who put their heart into making them! 

Once you’ve installed human or synthetic dreadlock extensions, you can keep them for years and years- essentially as long as you’d like. They last quite a while. They are high quality if they are made right, and they are absolutely worth the investment. 

You can choose to make your own (which is taught in the video I linked), and you’ll see what I mean! You’ll learn why they are so expensive.

Or you could save up and buy some. They’re so worthwhile. 
I recommend these folks:
Anouk Dreadmaker (synthetic locks)- http://www.etsy.com/shop/AnoukDreadmaker?section_id=13273973&ref=shopsection_leftnav_2

Lunar Dreadlocks (human hair locks)- http://www.etsy.com/shop/LunarDreadlocks?section_id=11358022&ref=shopsection_leftnav_1

So, there you have it. A video teaching you to make them for yourself, and links to a human hair and synthetic hair seller! I highly recommend both of them. The choice is yours!
-JR

Leave a Reply

