So I have naturally red hair, and I recently decided to accent with a few dreadlocks. I read on multiple internet sites that you should wash them with baking soda, so I did. Now I’ve noticed white strands throughout the dread. And I know that when ginger hair loses it’s pigment it goes blonde than white. I was wondering if by doing this I’ve killed the pigment in my hair? And if not, what I’ve done to make them turn white…

Hello there,

I don’t see how baking soda could cause your hair to fade. What is more likely is that you just have residual baking soda in your hair. 

Or perhaps there are a few greys you didn’t notice before? 

At any rate, you do not have to wash your hair with baking soda. You can wash with regular shampoos and it is a lot easier and gets your scalp more clean- baking soda doesn’t really have the ability to take all the oils from your scalp when they build up. 

It’s fine if you want to wash your hair with baking soda, but shampoo is my preferred method. You just have to make sure to rinse your hair 10-15 minutes after your wash it because if you don’t, you risk a product buildup. 

If this didn’t adequately answer your question- please send us some photos on our submit page so we can see what is going on with your hair. 🙂 

Also, check out our washing page- 
http://dreadlockinfo.com/washing

It doesn’t tell you what you *must* or *mustn’t* do, but rather gives you guidelines on deciding your personal hair washing regimen. 🙂 

-JR

Leave a Reply

