So I’m wanting to put a few dreads in my hair but I don’t want the whole thing ya feel? I usually don’t have a part with my hair, I just kinda move it side to side with my hand. Click my profile pic if you needa better visual. So, I was just wondering where some good places to start a loc would be ? Thanksssss

Hi,

As a friendly reminder to all of our followers, ”locs” is only for the use of those whose racial heritage includes African ancestry. For more detailed information about why that is, click here.

If you’re interested in having just a handful of locks mixed in with a majority of your hair still free-flowing, then all you have to do pick an area to section your locks in, and start them with a method of your choice. Popular areas are behind the ears and the nape of the neck, though there are other creative placements, too.

Aftercare does not require much and will not affect how you wash the rest of your unlocked hair.

We have a tag packed full of starting tips, sectioning tips, photos, and other Q&As that I suggest you read over before starting. It should answer any other question you have!

If questions still remain after reading the tag, please let us know! We would love to help.

– KJ

Leave a Reply

