I really need help like ASAP. I have synthetic dreadlock extensions, but they dont have a loop on the top at all (I don’t know the terms for that), they are literally just dreadlocks with loose hair at the top where they were cut from a weft. I have shoulder-length dreads that are pretty young with loose hair at the bottom & I want to extend them with my kanekalon extensions. HOW DO I DO THIS (NICELY)? Do I crochet? Braid? Are there videos? I can’t seem to find any great ones. Thank you so much!

Hello,

Only temporary locks have a loop at the top. They are intended for people with 100% unlocked hair to braid them in to give them the appearance of locks. What you have are lock extensions, which should not have a loop at the top at all, so there is nothing to worry about.

To add your extensions to your hair please follow the instructions in this video (starts at 15 minutes and 42 seconds). For optimal results, make sure your locks are more than three months old and you are using a 0.5mm crochet hook. Anything 1mm or larger will not work well. In-depth explanation about extension attachment with wispy tips is provided in this post.

The above method works with lock extensions (both human hair and synthetic hair) with a loose part at the top. I’m unsure of which yours are, since you mentioned a weft (kanekalon does not come on a weft). But regardless of the material, that is the method!

Hopefully you find this helpful. Let us know if you need any further guidance.

– KJ

Leave a Reply

