how do i go about resectioning my dreads? i have 72 when i originally wanted only about 30. do i have to restart? this is already my second set!

You can combine pairs of locks, which will give you 36 locks. I did this, because I had more than 100, when I wanted 50-ish. I had triangle sections, so combining them gave me squares in the end.

Combining originally square sections is trickier, because they often combine into rectangle shapes, which often like to split at the root.

Also, combining locks often makes a wobbly sectioning scheme that may require more attention later on.

For this reason, I believe brushing your locks out and starting over is the easier and more effective option. However, if that doesn’t sound like something you want to do, we have information about how to combine locks in the following tag:

http://dreadlockinfo.com/tagged/combining

– KJ

Leave a Reply

