Hello! I have curly/wavy shoulder length hair and I want to know if I have to cut/grow it out before I install synthetic natural looking dreads in it or if I just install it as it is. I am making single ended and double ended ones.

Nope, you don’t have to grow it out at all! The only thing synthetic locks require is enough length to braid the locks in, which is usually only about 3-4 inches. Shoulder-length is plenty!

For more information about synthetics, please explore our synthetic locks tag and read Tumblr user Mkatsi’s “Comprehensive Synthetic Dreadlock Information” PDF.

– KJ

Leave a Reply

