How would I go about fixing a rather large loop that is pretty close to my root?

Hello there! 

A good way might be to try tightly thread wrapping the root. I use regular sewing thread to tightly x-wrap 1-3 inches of the lumpy area. I wear it for 1-2 weeks, being sure to wash my locks several times while the wrap is in. This will help to reshape the lump in a pretty non-invasive way.

Then I carefully use a seam ripper or small pair of scissors to snip the thread and remove it.

You might also try a bead, but beads are a bit less effective. 

Crochet hooking is not such a good idea in this instance because if you crochet hook your roots too tightly you may cause irritation of your scalp and roots. 

I hope this is helpful to you.
-JR

Leave a Reply

